Christ Church Cemetery offers a beautiful and tranquil rural setting along the west end of Closson Road. Serving the community since 1843, land for the cemetery and church was deeded to the Anglican Church in 1846 by Robert Hubbs, granting permission for anyone in Hillier, regardless of denomination, to be buried there.
The beautiful wooden church at Hillier built in the 1840’s was struck by lightning on August 12th, 1944 and a new church rose out of the ashes in 1947. The new building served the community until 1969 when it was closed, with the exception of the annual Decoration Day service in June. Faced with rising maintenance and insurance costs, the building was sold to Closson Chase wineries in 2006 and moved to its current location at the corner of Closson and Chase roads.
In 1922 the Hillier Cemetery Society was formed to take care of the burial ground and the Hillier Women’s Institute sponsored the building of the stones gates as a memorial to “the dauntless courage and confirmation of purpose of our pioneer women.” Since 1938 the cemetery has been maintained by the Anglican Church; presently St. Andrew’s Church in Wellington.
The cemetery remains an active memorial to those who contributed to the creation of vibrant rural communities.